Home > Citrix, Citrix XenApp, SCCM, SCCM Operating System Deployment (OSD) > ConfigMgr OSD TS commands not working with Windows Server 2008 R2

ConfigMgr OSD TS commands not working with Windows Server 2008 R2


I ran into some inconsistency with commands working with my ConfigMgr task sequence when deploying Windows Server 2008 R2. I am creating a build for Citrix XA6. When I ran certain commands via the TS to do this in Windows Server 2008 R2 it did not work. In the full OS it worked just fine. So my good friend Chris Nackers gave me a couple of ideas. Basically Chris said to dig into what is being called, where it resides, and force the TS to work that way.

One of the applications that we need installed (HP Quality Center) requires that DEP is turned off.

The command I need to run is: bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOf
In the TS I need to run: cmd.exe /c "bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff"

The next trick was to “Disable 64-bit file system redirection”. So, BCDEDIT.EXE is in C:\Windows\System32 in Windows Server 2008 R2 and it seems that when I combine the command in the TS and that checkbox things work. I also added “C:\Windows\System32” as the “Start in:” folder but I am not certain that this is necessary.

image

The Citrix XenApp install also had some issues using the following command prompt required a temporary disabling of driver integrity check. If you do not specify this it will give you a security warning and say that an unsigned driver is trying to install. So without this it will not install silently.

Installation: XenAppSetupConsole.exe /log:c:\XA6_Install.log /install:XenApp /Platinum
Command I had to run first: bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
How I need to use in the TS: cmd.exe /c "bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS"

image

Likewise I enabled the driver integrity check when done by using:

cmd.exe /c "bcdedit -deletevalue loadoptions"

image

  1. Steiny
    April 13, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Hi Josh,

    i also have troubbles installing XenApp 6 during OSD Tasksequence in SCCM. I’ve already tried a lot of, also your method, but nothing will work. There is always the same problem – XenAppSetupConsole.exe exits with errorcode 1603.
    CitrixMsi-mps-xxx.log says:

    MSI (s) (18:FC) [13:55:06:886]: Note: 1: 1708
    MSI (s) (18:FC) [13:55:06:901]: Transforming table Error.

    MSI (s) (18:FC) [13:55:06:901]: Transforming table Error.

    MSI (s) (18:FC) [13:55:06:901]: Produkt: Citrix XenApp 6.0 — Installation failed.

    MSI (s) (18:FC) [13:55:06:901]: Windows Installer installed the product. Product Name: Citrix XenApp 6.0. Product Version: 6.0.0.0. Product Language: 1031. Manufacturer: Citrix Systems, Inc.. Installation success or error status: 1603.

    Used command: XenAppSetupConsole.exe /logfile:%temp%\XA6_install.log /Install:XenApp /Enterprise

    When i run exact the same Tasksequence-Step with a separate Tasksequence-Advertisement on a clean installed OS, the XenApp-Installation works fine!
    So the problem exists only during the OSD-Phase, but where is the difference ?

    It is very frustrating, because I do not know what more I can do. So i hope you can help!

    Thank you very much,
    Steiny

    • April 13, 2012 at 10:48 am

      Same issues here and have not worked through it just yet. Very sorry!

      • Steiny
        April 24, 2012 at 12:46 am

        Hi Josh,

        thank you for you answer!
        I have found a solution for the problem. The installation works fine when i run the XenApp-Setup (XenAppSetupConsole.exe) via a package-program in the OSD-TS (TS-Option “Install Software”).
        When i execute the setup with the TS-Option “Run Commandline” the installation fails with 1603.

        Steiny

  2. Timm Brochhaus
    July 11, 2011 at 3:56 am

    Dear Josh,
    currently I am trying to install xenapp 6 using MS SCCM.
    In the moment it is not possible for me to run XenAppSetupConsole.exe using (sccm default) local system account. Can you please tell me, how you executed the XenAppSetupConsole.exe?
    Are you using the RunAsUser functionality provided by sccm?

    • July 11, 2011 at 6:40 am

      That depends on how you are doing it. I have the install perform before it is joined to the domain before I capture an image and then after the image drops on a target server I join the farm. Now there is a lot of stuff in between those two things but to answer your question I do a run as to join the farm but for the initial install before capturing the image I run a command that only installs components and does not require the run as…but I will be honest I am not at work right now and will be traveling so I do not have the exact info. If you still have problems let me know.

  1. May 5, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Leave a Reply

