Why I think DISM is awesome…


Have you ever run into a situation where a NIC driver just will not install from a driver package in a ConfigMgr task sequence? The NIC driver works when you use it in WinPE. It will install in the full OS outside of the imaging process without issue (i.e. via Device Manager). It just will not install from “Auto Apply Drivers” or a “Apply Driver Package” in the task sequence. I have to say this can be really frustrating. This happened to me with Windows 7 32-bit and some Intel drivers. No version difference would help.

But, I used DISM (Deployment Image Servicing and Management) to install the drivers in the image that I captured and the NIC drivers installed without issue using that new image in the same task sequence. In fact I used the same drivers from the driver package that didn’t work in the task sequence. Nothing different other than installing them into the offline .WIM file of the captured OS.

That is why I think DISM is awesome!

Source: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd744355(WS.10).aspx

  1. Hal
    August 31, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Josh, I have been really struggling with Dell storage drivers for images I’m creating for deployments and your article hit the nail on the head. I have a litethouch.win CD that will allow me to boot and connect to my deployment server, but the same litetouch. wim will not connect if I PXE boot from WDS. Additionally, the selection profile (Drivers) will not inject the ACHI drivers in the image when I deploy it. BTW…I’m deploying Windows XP and I’m assuming this will work with Win XP as well.

    Your article makes perfect sense but I want to be certain where to inject the driver in the image.wim. Can you please outline where the drivers should be injected in the image.wim?

    • August 31, 2011 at 10:54 pm

      If you follow the instructions in the TechNet article to inject the drivers it will do this automatically for you. Specifically try the steps in “Add Drivers to an Offline Image by Using DISM”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

